Holunderschnaps – Elder flower liquor – Liquore di Sambuco – WHB #295 (en)

While trekking up and down this beautiful place that the Garda lake is I love talking to the people that comes with me, the people I meet, the people that lives here.
With these people I exchange ideas. I listen to their stories. I learn so much.
As we walk almost all day, it is natural that around lunch we talk about food, and it is even more natural that we exchange recipes! 😀
I’m very lucky because I receive many old family recipes, regional recipes and special liquor recipes. Like this one given me by Anne in may while we where trekking from Castelletto to Cassone.

Holunderschnaps – Elder flower liquor –

Liquore di Sambuco

Holunderschnapps-elder flower liquor- liquore di sambuco

this version is unusual because of the use of dry flowers instead of fresh ones.

Holunderschnapps-elder flower liquor- liquore di sambuco

you need.
100gr of dried elder flowers
juice and peel from to organic lemons
300-400gr of sugar
250ml of water
1l of spirit 40%*

Dust the fresh flowers and cut al wigs and leaves. Let dry in a shadow place for a couple of days.
In the meanwhile prepare the sirup, melting the sugar in boiling water.
Let cool completely. Leave it to cool one night, if you add sirup that’s not perfectly cold to your liquor it whill turn muddy. There is no way of filtering a muddy liquor, it is impossible to make it turn limpid again.

this advise was given me by Marina from the food site Mangiarebene
put the dried flowers in big bowl or jam jar, add juice and peel from the two lemons, pour over the cold sugar sirup and the the bottle of spirit.

Holunderschnapps-elder flower liquor- liquore di sambuco
cover your bowl with a piece of cooking foil or close lid if you use a jam jar.
let rest for 7 weeks in a warm but shadow place.
.
Holunderschnapps-elder flower liquor- liquore di sambuco
(I know it is a terribly long time, but I assure you it is worth it :-D)
then filter, pour in bottles and put away in a dark, cool and dry place.
before serving put in the fridge. serve very cold.

Holunderschnapps-elder flower liquor- liquore di sambuco

Brigida_ate:

*
I used a Korn spirit, I round it in Germany.
you can also use 90% alcohol (spirit), but to get the right percentage
mix 500ml of spirit with 500ml of water.
or, you can use a Grappa at 38%, not to dry. if it is to dry, add more sugar in your sirup

I made just one big mistake…I made to little of this liquor! : -D

I send this to my dear friend
Simona di Briciole
hosting this week’s WHB.

thank’s to

                                                           Kalyn di Kalyn’s Kitchen

who have given my the chance to

1 thought on “Holunderschnaps – Elder flower liquor – Liquore di Sambuco – WHB #295 (en)

  1. Simona

    I guess you can always make more, can’t you? This is a very interesting post. I admit I don’t know anything about making liquors, so I admire your skill. Thanks for contributing this to WHB!

    Reply

Leave a comment