Chlodnik – Cold Polish beet soup – WHB #438 (en)

Clodnik - Cold Polish beet soup - Zuppa fredda alla babrbabietola

Busy days, I thought not working anymore would leave me a lot of time to stay at home. But, the days are long, the light is bright, and the Monte Baldo is so inviting.

view of the lake from Baito e. Turri

I thought I would miss the guiding, in fact I do..but not as much as I thought I would.
Perhaps the decision was right, it was time to stop, to take a deep breath and think of myself.
My disease is not getting any better, I’ve totally lost the hearing on my left ear, and sometimes things around me starts to spin around. It is sometimes is a problem when I’m walking, gaining height, but naturally this doesn’t prevent me still climbing up.
🙂

Costabella
Poland is our last stop over in this so funny, constructive and interesting journey with the European Community Culinary ABC.
Of course it doesn’t stop here…the whole world is waiting for us!😀

Last November Niki (son n°2) was in Poland, and I kept whatsapping him to buy me a polish cookbook. He did.

This is the first recipe I tried.
To have a lovely purple color you should use the beet roots and not only the young beet root steams like I did.
I didn’t find andy beetroot concentrate, so that is also why my soup looks vey grey-greenish.
But despite the ugly not-inviting color, I assure you it is good!
Serve very cold, with or without hard boiled eggs.
Yummy!!!

Chlodnik
Clodnik - Cold Polish beet soup - Zuppa fredda alla babrbabietola

You need:

1 bunch of 4 or 5 young, tender beetroot steams
½ teaspoon salt
2 cucumbers, peeled and grated
6 radishes, grated
3 tablespoons fresh dill, chopped
2 green onions (white and green parts), chopped (I used spring onions)
4 cups plain yogurt
4 cups kefir or buttermilk
1 cup sour cream
salt and pepper, to taste
3 hard boiled eggs, quartered

Dice the stems and the leaves
Add the chopped stems to a large soup pot
Add enough water just to cover the beets, add salt
Simmer until tender, about 15 minutes
Cool the beet mixture
Add the cucumbers, radishes, dill, green onions, yogurt, kefir, and sour cream.
Season with salt and pepper
Chill and serve garnished with hard boiled egg

Clodnik - Cold Polish beet soup - Zuppa fredda alla babrbabietola

This goes to Kriss from Tutto a occhio hosting us and WHB this week.

Thanks to, Kalyn di Kalyn’s Kitchen for this lovely idea and
Haalo,Cook (almost) anything at least once for managing successfully this event.
And also for giving me the opportunity to manage the Italian Version of WHB

Grazie a, Kalyn di Kalyn’s Kitchen che ha avuto questa bellissima idea ed a
Haalo,Cook (almost) anything at least once che ora organizza l’edizione Inglese e
che mi ha dato l’opportunità di organizzare l’edizione del WHB in Italiano.
whb438

Leave a Reply

