Peach Gazpacho – WHB #346 (en)

4 months ago I started a new project together with three other blogger friends,
StellaLorenza , Roberta .
It was sometime I was thinking about it,
I wanted to do something good and healthy.
Something similar to MLLA and Healing Foods, but a little more specific.

Salutiamoci (more or less, saying hello, but in Italian Salute also means Health,
so we could perhaps call it HelloHealth in English)

Eating healthy to feel healthy.
Roberta designed our logo, a little smiling red apple, with shaking hands.
Our idea is to learn and teach how to cook in a healthy way.
Of course we didn’t wake up one morning inventing everything, no, we decided to follow Dr. Berrino’s strict rules. He is the Director  Dipartimento di Medicina Preventiva e Predittiva dell’Istituto Nazionale dei Tumori di Milano. (Department of Preventive Medicine of the National Institute of Cancer in Milan) and at Cascina Rosa he teaches how to cook tasty healthy food, specially for  You can read about him and his project Diana here .
He and his team has also helped  the World Cancer Research Fund with the researches on the interaction between  nutrition and  cancer on  breast, cervix and  ovary cancer.
You can find WCRF’s conclusions here: www.dietandcancerreport.org<

Now, we don’t want to force anybody, we are just asking to try and cook something using healthy ingredients. And to help (most of us) Stella, made a “ingredient table” with the ingredients that are permitted and the ones not.

Me in the first place admit it is very hard.
I’m a convinced meat eater, I love cheese, milk, yoghurt..almost anything coming from an animal.
But I’m trying to do the best I can, to change way of cooking and eating.
As a matter of fact it is now 4 days I’m not using any white, brown sugar at all.
I’m very proud of me! :-))))
(of course this means that the rest of the family is also doing without).

So, every month we change ingredient and host.
We started in May with Peas & Fava beans, June with Barley, July with Zucchini and August with Peaches.
I’m the proud host of the month of August.
I’m also very proud of how it is going, we have received so many interesting, tasty and healthy recipes in the last months.
And I’m so proud of my dear blogger friends that didn’t hesitate for a moment joining me in the adventure.
Thank you girls!🙂

Peach Gazpacho
The recipe is inspired by  Calycanti

Peach Gazpacho - Gazpacho di pesche

You need:

4 yellow or white peaches

1 cucummber

1 red onion

1 yellow bell pepper

a piece (big) of fresh ginger

1 little fresh chili

some fresh celery leaves

apple vinegar

2 slices of rye bread or of whole wheat

Toasted sesame seeds to garnish

Peel and score the peaches and cut in pieces.
Wash, peel and cut in pieces/slices the rest of the vegetables.
Peel the ginger and grate it
Slice the chili
Cut the slices of bread in pieces.
Chop the celery leaves

Put all the ingredients in a bowl and sprinkle over the vinegar.
Let mariante in the fridge for a couple of hours.

Peach Gazpacho - Gazpacho di pesche

Then pour it all in the blender and blend until smooth (I left it rather coarse, I like it better)
Season with salt and pepper, and add vinegar if it is not spicy enough.
Conserves in the fridge for 3-4 days.
Serve cold (very cold) with the toasted sesame seeds.

Peach Gazpacho - Gazpacho di pesche

 

 

 

I found my self, alone the other evening, so I sat the table for one person only, in front of the lake and had my Gazpacho enjoying some good music and nice view.🙂

Peach Gazpacho - Gazpacho di pesche

Peach Gazpacho - Gazpacho di pesche

This is our little logo.

How to join, rules here: qui
The ingredients and hosts you can find here: qui
You can find our ingredient table: qui.
Our FB page: Qui 

 

 

This recipe goes to my friend Susan – The well seasoned Cook,
hosting WHB this week.

Thanks to, Kalyn di Kalyn’s Kitchen for this lovely idea and
Haalo,Cook (almost) anything at least once for managing success fully this event.
And also for giving me the opportunity to manage the Italian Version of WHB.

One response to “Peach Gazpacho – WHB #346 (en)

  1. What lovely photos! I would love to join you on your porch with a bowl of this luscious peach gazpacho.

Leave a Reply

