Zucchini Gazpacho with Martini – Gazpacho di zucchine e Martini – WHB #345 (en)

Unfortunately lately I have less and less time to work in the garden.
I take care of the plants I have but it is some years now I don’t buy new ones, and worse I do no scions or cuttings.
It is so fun to do cuttings, and see new plants grow.
Even if it takes years to see them bloom or make fruits, I feel it is always some kind of magic waiting and hoping.
This winter was so cold our two lemon plants died.
Or we thought they did, but as always before throwing away, I keep watering and hoping….
So, after 8 months yesterday, something wonderful happend..
One of the 2 lemons have a new sprig!!

new lemon2

Isn’t this amazing?
I’m so happy!
new lemon1
To be sure not to forget to give water I planted 2 white Kalanchoes in the pot. They needed new places, as their plastic pots where so tiny.

In the other lemon pot, nothing happens yet, but a huge tomato plant has grown!!. I don’t know where that came from.😀

pomodor

Two other plants have surprised me by surviving the cold winter,
one is a Salvia Elegans Pinapple sage and the other is Solanum Rantonnetii Potato bush blue.
I think also the Lantana montevidensis , Trailing Lantana is back, but I’m not sure.
We’ll wait and see🙂

We are great fans of Gazpacho, usually I do the classic tomato Gazpacho
but I have tried a Peach version that we liked very very much, but also this one with zucchini turned out to be a new favorite!
I was inspired by the Calycanti for this recipe

Zucchini Gazpacho with White Martini
Zucchini Gazpacho with Martini - Gazpacho di zucchine e Martini

you need:
3 zucchinis
2 cucumber
1 handfull of pine nuts
3 small onions or one big one (red)
2 cloves of garlic (optional)
1 green apple
1/4 of a green bell pepper
1 slice of rye bread
2 tblsp of honey (optional)
1 hand full of fresh mint leaves
some fresh basil leaves
1 glass of white Martini
1 glass of extra virgin olive oil
1 glass of apple vinegar
1 and half glass of water
1 chili (mine was red)
salt (optional)

Some toasted pine nuts to decorate

Cut the zucchini in pieces and boil for 2-3min.
The put all the ingredients (less the water) in a ball (washed, peeled and cut in pieces or slices) and mix with the vinegar, martini and oil
Let marinate in the fridge for 1 hour.
Blend all the the ingredients until smooth, add the water if necessary.
Serve cold with the toasted pines.

Zucchini Gazpacho with Martini - Gazpacho di zucchine e Martini

Brigida_ate:
I didn’t add the optional ingredients.
The Gazpacho conserves in the fridge for 4 days.

Zucchini Gazpacho with Martini - Gazpacho di zucchine e Martini

This is so tasty, actually it is even better if you leave it over night and serve it super chilled the next day.
Yummy!!!!!

This goes to my friend  Cristina di  La cucina di Cristina,
hosting this week.

Thanks to, Kalyn di Kalyn’s Kitchen for this lovely idea and
Haalo,Cook (almost) anything at least once for managing success fully this event.
And also for giving me the opportunity to manage the Italian Version of WHB.

One response to “Zucchini Gazpacho with Martini – Gazpacho di zucchine e Martini – WHB #345 (en)

  1. Pingback: > WHB # 345 round up english and italian | Giornale Blog

Leave a Reply

