Pear and Horseradish Sauce – Salsa alle pere e rafano – #WHB #342 (en)

How do you put together a recipe?
I try to imagine the taste while reading a recipe, I try to imagine the
union of the ingredients I like to join, I try to imagine the taste of what I put together.
Of course, not everything turns out like I imagine, I have to correct or start all over again, but sometimes I works!

Like this time.
Yesterday my dear friend Simoo, gave me some smoked herring.
I putted it in the fridge, in order to wait for a new idea to serve it.
This afternoon I looked through a web site I like very much
New Scandinavian Cooking, and when I saw this recipe, I immediately
imagined the taste together with the smoked herring.
The spicy taste of the horseradish and the soft sweetness of the pears
could be perfect to “lighten” up the salted, grease taste of the herring.
Yes!ūüôā

Pear and Horseradish Sauce
recipe from New Scandinavian Cooking

Pear & Horsradush sauce - Salsa alle pere e rafano

You need:

2 pears, peeled and seeded

1 tablespoon grated horseradish

1 red onion, finely chopped

2 tablespoons cold pressed Canola oil*

1 tablespoon white wine vinegar

3 tablespoons chives, finely chopped

Salt and black pepper

Pear & Horsradush sauce - Salsa alle pere e rafano

Cut the pear into small cubes. Mix all the ingredients in a bowl and season
with salt and pepper.
Let marinate at least some hours in the fridge before using, 24h would be even better.
It is really perfect with smoked herring, but also chicken or pork would do pretty well.
Brigida_ate:
* I used extra virgin olive oil

Pear & Horsradush sauce - Salsa alle pere e rafano

This goes to dear Ancutza from Matrioska’s Adventures


Thanks to, Kalyn di 
Kalyn’s Kitchen    for this lovely idea and
Haalo,Cook (almost) anything at least once  for managing success fully this event.
And  also for giving me the opportunity to manage the Italian Version of WHB.


One response to “Pear and Horseradish Sauce – Salsa alle pere e rafano – #WHB #342 (en)

  1. Pingback: Raccolta ricette con vegetali WHB342# | Matrioska Adventures

Leave a Reply

