Elderflower Cordial – WHB #334 (en)

So, it is Sunday again and another week has passed by.
Time is running fast like sand through my fingers.
I see so many different people, and it is difficult to remember their names,
their faces.
Tomorrow I have 7 German guest doing the walk, two of them, have been sent by an another couple that have done some walks with me 2 o 3 weeks ago.
I can’t remember their names, but I do remember the man with a big bully and the video camera!🙂
The weather forecast says rain, rain and again rain for tomorrow..but who knows..
Together will try to do the beautiful Il Sentiero del Ponale

This recipe was suggested to me by my dear friend Marcia.

 

Elderflower Cordial

Elderflower - Sambuco - Hollunder Cordial

She sent me the link to a lovely English web site called:
 The Herb Society
Thank you Marcia, it is lovely!!

 

Elderflower - Sambuco - Hollunder Cordial

You need:

20 elderflower heads
4 lemons
4 oranges
1.8 kg granulated sugar *
1.2l water

Place the sugar in the water in a saucepan and bring to the boil, stirring until all the sugar is dissolved. While the water is heating, place the elderflowers in a large bowl and cut the zest off the oranges and lemons and add to elderflowers. Cut the ends off the citrus fruit and discard, then slice and add to contents of bowl. Pour the boiling sugar syrup over the elderflowers and citrus fruits. Cover the bowl and place in a cool place for 24 hours. I put a plate on the top of the bowl to keep the citrus fruit submerged in the syrup. After 24 hours strain (eat the orange slices – they are amazing!). Strain twice o three times more using either muslin or kitchen paper. Makes 4 pints of cordial.
Pour into sterilized glass jars or plastic jars and freeze. Or, give the coridal a boil and the pour in clean bottles, store in a cool, dark and dry place like you do with your jams and marmalade.
Once opened keep in fridge.
It tastes good with fizzy water.
Serve in glass jugs with slices of lemon and a sprig of mint.
Try also with dry white wine or Prosecco. ;-D

Brigida_ate:
* I used only 500gr of sugar
It is less sweet and less like syrup
I just love it!🙂

Elderflower - Sambuco - Hollunder Cordial

This is my entry for this week’s WHB, hosted by me🙂

Thanks to
Kalyn di Kalyn’s Kitchen    for this lovely idea and
Haalo,Cook (almost) anything at least once  for managing success fully this event.
And  also for giving me the opportunity to manage the Italian Version of WHB.

 

4 responses to “Elderflower Cordial – WHB #334 (en)

  1. eheh penso di aver capito abbastanza bene….ma poi fai la versione it…vero? ti strabaciozzolo

  2. Pingback: WHB #334 – the round up (en) | briggishome

  3. Exquisite. I have tasted the French St. Germain. I would love to sip your recipe. : }

Leave a Reply

