Daily Archives: 17/11/2010

Autumn candles – Centerpiece Wednesday

I’ve been back and forward of the hospital for a week, nothing serious but it is a little annoying
I’m suffering of Meniere’s Disease.
this past week I’ve been given some stronger medicine then usual, because I had one of my attacks.
so, what do you when they put you on a drip taking hours?
you talk to your fellow patients, you read or study and you look out of the window dreaming of going treeking! 😀

the view is very nice from the Hospital, just beneath is the river Adige . It comes down from behind Bolzano and goes all the way to the Adriatic Sea. it makes a very strange turn at Badia Polesine, it is not natural and there are some different theories about this strange turn. in the photo it is passing by the church of Pescantina

adige, pescantina

looking the other way, you can se the massive of Monte Baldo

Monte Baldo mattina 12 nov da Bussolengo

for dear Karin of Styles Sisters, I thought it could be nice to post some candles I made for two dear friend of mine.
I was invited to dinner at Andrea’s and I went to visit Alda in hospital.
so, what bring them? candles of course! 😀

this round one was for Alda, the pumpkin coloured candle looked so good together with the redish leaves of the Ampelopsis triscuspidata – Boston Ivy
 and the yellow leaves of the wild grape
above the leaves , around the candle some plastic pearls in the same pumpkin colour
under a glass plate.
I fixed it all with some glue (hot glue)

pr alda

per alda

per alda

the cylindric candle was for Andrea,
I used a glass plate as base and different coloured leaves of the
Cotinus coggygria – Smoke bush

around the candle, rose hips and berries from Sorbus Aria – Whitebeam

andrea

andrea

behind the candle you can se the different coloured leaves from the

if you have the possibility plant it, it is so beautiful in every season.

andrea

this is how my gifts was presented, with brown paper and pumpkin coloured ribbon.

per alda ed andrea

these decorations maintain for more then one week, if kept outside.
you leave them outside and bring them in when yopu want to light the candle.
if you keep them in room temperature (around 19-20°) they will maintain lesser, for 3-4 days. they are nice even with dried leaves.
remember never to leave lit candles alone.

choose a important plate for your decoration, so when the candle is burn down and the
leaves are to be thrown away, your friend will be left with a nice gift.
I love glass plates but they are rather difficult to arrange, the glue doesn’t fix and the
leaves are slipping around all the time.
for beginners I suggest terracotta plates, the ones you use in the garden.
they are perfect, the glue is fixed and the small boarder helps you keeping the leaves
in place.
I did collect a lot of leaves, twigs and branches
so I decided to make a decoration for me too.
these candles are very cheap, only coloured on the outside, but I loved the brown colour
and I thought it could look so good together with the multicoloured leaves

brown  candle decoration

I used a simply wood box (the one you buy fruit in)

brown  candle decoration

the candles in the middle, and all leaves around them

brown  candle decoration

brown  candle decoration

all the rose hips and berries left, and the plastic pearls I didn’t use for my friends.

a Big hug to Karin and Tiff.