Strawberry and Red Prune Jam – WHB #329 (it)

This has been a rainy week!
It has been a little bit difficult to walk, actually last Wednesday
I stayed at home. That was a pity because I had 12 guests booked for the trek.
The rain poured down all day and thought it wouldn’t stop even the next day, but Thursday it was beautiful!!
I was trekking with my friends, and we spent a wonderful day walking, laughing, talking and eating. :-)

view of the lake from Cà Vicari

It as difficult to decide which one was more blue, the lake or the sky.

P1050687

We stopped in a little half abandoned hamlet called Le Cà (that means the houses), this hamlet once so full of life is placed in the middle (more or less) between the lake and the Costabella edge of Monte Baldo.

P1050711

This tour was a test to see if it could be too hard to do for my tourists. This winter I will take also my hotel owners. I’m sure they also will like it very much.

One of the things that gives me a lot of joy is to take friends that live in Garda lake a lifetime in places they didn’t know the existence of. The look upon their faces when they see places like Le Cà for the first time is lovely. This makes me happy for days! :-)

P1050719

It also makes me happy writing on my blog, sharing all this with you.
I don’t have many comments, but that’s alright, I see in the statistics that people come, stay and read.
Thank you all! :-)

This recipe (and photo) is two years old, but as I haven’t posted it on the blog yet, I thought it was time, since in a few weeks (I hope!!)
it will be Strawberry time!! :-))

Strawberry and Red prunes Jam

confettura fragole eprugne rosse1

You need:

500gr of strawberries
500gr of red Prunes
1 Sachet of Fruttapec 3:1 (pectin)*
250gr of sugar**
juice from one lemon

Wash and cut the strawberries in halves.
Wash, stone and cut the red prunes in halves.
Put the fruit in a pot, add the lemon juice let it cook slowly for one hour.
Let resto all the night in a cool place.
(this helps the jam to set)
The next day add the pectin and the sugar, mix well and let the jam take a qui boil, cook for 7-8min.
Pour in clean jars, close lids and let cool up side down.
Leave up side down until completely cooled.
Store in a cool, dark and dry place.
It is very very nice on soft cheese like Robiola,
It is very very nice putted in a (home made) yoghurt.
It is very very nice eaten spoon after spoon from the jar!
:-)

Brigida_ate:
**
Fruttapec is the name of the most used Pectina we have here.
You can find in various forms:
1:1 means 1kg fruit + 1kg sugar + 1 sachet of Fruttapec
1:2 means 1kg fruit + 500gr of sugar + 1 sachet of Fruttapec
1:3 means 1kg fruit + 350gr of sugar + 1 sachet of Fruttapec.

I used the Fruttapec 1:3, and 250gr of sugar.
This made my jam less sweet and more jelly like.

This goes to Simona from Briciole who is hosting this week.
Thank you Simona for hosting (and waiting) :-)

I wish to thank  Kalyn from Kalyn’s Kitchen                                                                           and Haalo,Cook (almost) anything at least once                                                       Without Haalo I wouldn’t even be here doing the  the Italian version of WHB!

Leave a Reply

