Lemon, ginger and honey sirup for sore throat – WHB #328 – (en)

Happy Easter!
Easter gift

I hope you have celebrated or are celebrating in the best way.
Since my beloved mother-in-law died 3 years ago, Easter is not
the same.
It is difficult, nobody is in the right mood to celebrate so
we do what we can and hope time will pass by quickly.
Also the weather felt our sad mood because all day the weather shifted from rain, heavy clouds, dark water, to clear blue sky and sunny shining warm cosy moments.

san vigilio 8 apr 2012

afternoon 8 apr 2012

evening 8 apr 2012

Perhaps next year will be different.

This is a little interesting thing I found on Pinterest.
The recipe is Mad mad me’s

Lemon, ginger and honey sirup for sore throat

Sciroppo per la tosse al limone, zenzero e miele - Lemon, ginger and honey sirup for a sore throat

“I cut up 2 lemons, dropped them in a small mason jar and poured honey over them until it filled up about 1/3 of the jar. You can immediately see the juice from the lemon being drawn out by the honey and the two swirling together. I just made mine, but if I let it sit in the fridge, over the next few weeks the lemon will darken and the mixture will thicken. The peels and pulp will break down as well and leave behind a golden, lumpy marmalade that I can scoop into a cup and poor piping hot water over. “

Sciroppo per la tosse al limone, zenzero e miele - Lemon, ginger and honey sirup for a sore throat

This is my entry to this week’s WHB hosted by dear Haalo, from
Cook (almost) anything at least once

I wish to thank  Kalyn from Kalyn’s Kitchen                                                                           and Haalo,Cook (almost) anything at least once                                                       Without Haalo I wouldn’t even be here doing the  the Italian version of WHB!

5 responses to “Lemon, ginger and honey sirup for sore throat – WHB #328 – (en)

  1. eatinggreener

    My grandma used to swear by a honey/lemon mixture for a sore throat. This reminded me! Next time maybe I’ll try with ginger, too.

  2. Thanks for linking up to my post! I’m gonna do an update on the marmalade since it’s taking longer to “darken” up and get thick. I think I’ll need to make up more batches already too!~Charissa from MadMadme

  3. We always make lemon honey tea for when we have sore throats, but usually have it fresh. I like the thought of making a batch beforehand and having it ready in case we don’t have any lemons in the house.

Leave a Reply

