Daily Archives: 18/03/2012

Novel Food #15 – Sanvigilini (en)

I live in a special place. Its beauty and its atmosphere
surrounds me every day.
But I realize it even more when I leave for some time, a couple of days or even leave early in the morning and came back late a night.
I love coming back from behind, from Cavaion…
First I don’t see anything, just the road and the vineyards around.
Then I must climb a little hill, when I reach the top I allways stop,
because beneath I have the Garda Lake.
A silly smile is upon my face and my eyes sparkles.
I’m back home!

It happened also this evening, I have been away since Friday and even if the place I stayed in – The Lake Como is very, very nice. It is not much comparing to “my”lake. As a matter of fact I’ve been talking about the Garda lake for three days absolutely annoying everybody around! :-D

I’m a little late for this edition of Novel Food, but I was eager to participate and tell you about this book:

Leonard Walsh a San Vigilio written by Claire Sargaint (Cierre Grafica)

Punta San Vigilio is considered as one of the most beautiful places on the Garda lake. If you have had the pleasure to visit, you would surely agree. I didn’t know much bout this magical place, but lately I have been visiting San Vigilio a lot.

porto di san vigilio 10mar 2011

Off season is the best period, nobody around to disturb your thoughts, just you and some swan or duck that comes to see that you leave everything as you found it.

The book tells the interesting story of Leonard Walsh and the Locanda San Vigilio hosted by him for over 50years. The books also gives a romantic and fascinating glimpse of the life in Garda during the same time. There is photos, newspaper clips and letters received by Leonard from the more or less famous people that came visiting the Locanda during all those years.

Some of them where Winston Churchill, Mussolini, Vivien Leigh, Laurence Olivier, Princess Diana. But also local people, people from Garda that worked and lived at San Vigilio.

I do heartily recommend this book, I assure you will want to come visit both San Vigilio and the Locanda at once, even if Leonard is not here anymore. The love which the book is written by his niece Claire Sargaint is really touching.                        My husband and I read the book at the same time, I read in the morning and he in the evening. :-)

sn vigilio

Where I live I see San Vigilio every day, all the day….
in the morning

after a windy night, a beautiful clear morning 9 feb 2012

morning 29 feb 2012

noon
san vigilio - Bardolino 25 october 2009

DSCF8341

and in the evening

2 june 2010

san vigilio 2 june 2010

and it never bores me.
:-)

SanVigilini

sanvigilini

These cookies where called rock-cakes and the original recipe is Claire’s Grandmother Emily’s, later the name changed in SanVigilini and became famous also outside San Vigilio and the Locanda. I got the recipe from my friend Gloria from Malcesine. :-)

sanvigilini

Vi serve:

500 gr. flour
200 gr. butter
200 gr. sugar
3 eggs
1 sachet of baking powder
zest from and orange or a lemon
raisins
a pinch of salt

Let the raisins soak in water for 30min.

Bate the eggs with the sugar. Ad the rest of the ingredients, and work until you have a solid dough.                                                                                                                          Let the dough rest for 30min in the fridge.

Make small cookies and put on a baking tray covered with baking paper.

Bake in ove at 180°C for 20min

sanvigilini

Small_NFlogo

This is my contribution to the 15th edition of Novel Food, the literary/culinary event that Lisa of Champaign Taste and Simona of Bricole has started some time ago.