Daily Archives: 27/06/2010

whb #239 – Cherry stone liquor


welcome to this week’s herbal bloggging
this week we are hosted by Chris from Mele Cotte

thank’s Chris for hosting!


whb4.png



thank’s to Kalyn  who created this great event and
thank’s to Haalo who now managing it all 🙂


WHB Rules
Who’s Hosting?




I hate wasting food, and when I saw
all that good cherries attached to the stones
after doing chilos of jam





noccioli di ciliegie





I thought it was such a pity throwing away
everything.
sooo, I made a liquor!


Cherry Stone Liquor

liquore alle ciliegie1



you need:

450gr di cherry stones
500gr di spirit at 95°*

for the syrup:
300gr of sugar
800ml of water

pute the cherry stones in a jar and fill with the spirit
leave in the sun for 10days.
prepare the syrup:
boil the sugar in the water for 10-15min 
until it melts completely
pour the boiling syrup over the cherry stones**
let cool till the day after.
filter very carefully 2-3 times.
use paper filter,
that takes longer but is more accurate
let rest for at least 1 months.
but is a fact, the longer the liquor 
leaves to rest, the better it get
(and less alcoholic!)
conserve in a dark, cool an dry place

liquore alle ciliegie



brigidaa_te:
* if you can’t find 95° spirit
you can also use the one
for desserts at 70°
get’s even better!
I don’t use it because it is rather
difficult to find around here.
**
I usually recommend NOT to pour boiling syrup
over the marinates.
that is because the boiling syrup
makes your liquor cloudy.
in this case I needed the cherry flesh to 
separate from the stones.




I wish you a nice week


this is me today
I took my men to lunch in a Trattoria
near Monte Baldo
they were all afraid they’d  had to
walk a lot, but when they saw me
arriving in SANDALS they were all happy
MEN!

a ferrara in sandali!


and these are my men
Erik (son n°1) and Flo on the left
Manfred (father-in-law) and Niki (son n°2) on the right


my men


and this was some of the surroundings, 
it was very nice weather, but dizzy.

verso cerbiolo

vaio dell'orsa