WHB # 236 – Cauliflower pesto

this week WHB is  hosted by Simona from Briciole
thank you so much Simon for hosting :) 

more information about the WHB here:
thank’s to Kalyn  who created this great event and
thank’s to Haalo who now managing it all :)
today was a very special day! a lot of things to, to see. I made about 23km all together by foot.
this morning I went with Simoo and Monica to Ref. Chierego to have coffè and eat Lucia’s special apple pie :))
fortunately we started very early and in a little more then one hour we were up on the top!
Ref. Chierego is at 1916mts (6286.feets).
it wasn’t a very bright and sunny day up there, rather foggy and misty.
but oh so beautiful…now you can find so many alpine flowers blooming,
we didn’t have much time because Monica was invited at her mother-in-law fot lunch and I had an other appointment.
assisting a classic concert on Sengio Rosso. I was thrilled!
Sengio Rosso is a pink rock (rosso ammonitico -microbial content and pigmentation  influenced the formation and alteration of the carbonate and made this particular colouring) and from down under you can not immagine the immense green fileds you find up there.
DSCF6353
DSCF6356
DSCF6355
DSCF6351
it was very very special and I’m so happy I made it, though I lost my self in the woods.
(I wanted to try a new shorter way, but got trapped in the very thick undervegetation.
anyway, after crowling under and  climbing over, I finally got to the right filed. :)))
pradonego
this is Pradonego , with very very old houses, some of them (like this) are original
from the 1400 centuary.
once here lived 10 familys, all related but one. the word Pradonego comes from latin
“pratum nostrum” – that means our fields, more exactly Our Lords fileds, because the people
that worked the fields rarly owed them
It has been such a wonderful, interessting, musical and sunny Sunday.
I really enjoyed it!
Cauliflower pesto
pesto di cavolfiore - cauliflower pesto
very quick , very easy, very tasty :)
you need:
3 small cauliflower
 150gr of parmigiano reggiano
lemon zests of one lemon
1 tsp of cumin seeds
1 chili pepper
extravergin olive oil
black pepper
but all ingredients in a blender (not the olive oil) and blend till smooth.
put in clean glass jars and cover with the olive oil, gently bate the bottom of the jars so
all air comes uot (you will see the bubbles on the surface)
serve with spaghetti for.ex and a lot of balck pepper.
mmmmmm :)))
pasta with cauliflower pesto
I wish all a nice week!
sunset 6 june 2010

4 responses to “WHB # 236 – Cauliflower pesto

  1. Glad you enjoyed your Sunday activities — and I very much enjoyed seeing this cauliflower pesto. I like cauliflower with pasta but usually do it oreganata and then mix it. Also I never use cumin with pasta dishes — but I'm going to try it.

  2. All those nice photos, from the old house to the beautiful sunset. And the tasty pesto, of course. Thank you so much for participating.

  3. I can imagine, how nice this classic concerts has been in that pitoresque ambiente. I guess the musicians have exploited the natural acoustics. And the old houses made a great atmospheric background. I enjoyed to see your pesto recipe and will try to make it. Sounds yummy.Greetings, Johanna

  4. Pingback: French Orange-Honey Compote – WHB #317 | briggishome

Leave a Reply

